Licensing2026-03-01confirmed

Amazon × Reach plc

In late February or early March 2026, UK news publisher Reach plc signed its first AI content licensing deal with Amazon. [66] The agreement allows Amazon to use content from Reach's extensive portfolio, which includes the Mirror and Express newspapers, to power its Alexa voice assistant and Nova AI model. [66, 73] The deal is structured on a usage-based model, where Amazon pays Reach each time its content is utilized, though specific financial terms were not disclosed. [66] [price basis reported as: other]

Price paid
—
Not disclosed
Losing bid
—
Per unit
—
no meaningful ratio

The asset

Licensing of content from Reach's portfolio of over 120 news brands to be used by Amazon's voice assistant Alexa and its Nova AI model. [66, 73]

The record

Seller status
Going concern
Sector
News publishing
Modalities
text, images
Jurisdiction
UK

What it means if you hold data

This transaction demonstrates a tangible monetization path for large news publishers in the AI era, establishing a 'pay-per-use' precedent for content consumption by large language models and AI assistants. It shows that even publishers with free-to-access, ad-supported models can secure licensing revenue from big tech. [73]

Sources